• Nominations Open December 1

    Nominations for the next Katz-Phillips Leadership Development cohort will open on December 1. Questions? Email Sherri Tarr at sherritarr@jewishnola.com.

Announcing the 2022-2024 Katz-Phillips Leadership Development Program Class

The Jewish Federation is delighted to announce the 2022-2024 Katz-Phillips Leadership Development Program class. The class will be advised by Tracey Dodd and David Dulitz.

The Federation’s Katz-Phillips Leadership Development Program, formerly known as Lemann-Stern, has been in existence since 1960. The program is a year and a half in length, kicking off with an immersive mission to Israel. The class meets monthly, September-May the first year and September-December the second year, with Graduation in January. The sessions deal with Jewish American history, social action, leadership, and more. Graduates of the program have served on the boards of every Jewish agency, synagogue and organization in our community, and have used the knowledge gained from the program to benefit the wider New Orleans community as well. Congratulations to this new cohort:

Michael & Ava Alltmont
Ben Capiello & Anna Labadie
Adam Carlisle & Emma Herr
Sam Cohen
Matt Farah & Jessica Bach
Jeffrey Fingerman & Katie Coburn
Jason Gaines
Len & Kendall Glade
Shayna Goldfine
Michelle Hicks
Mark & Mary Katherine Kaufman
Aaron & Caitlin Klinger
Lesley Lucas
Terrell Mims
Killian Philipson
David Tucker & Melanie Sheen
Brian & Megan Yellin

About the Program

The Lemann-Stern Leadership Development Program was begun in 1960 for the purpose of training outstanding Jewish young men and women in the Greater New Orleans Jewish community for positions of leadership. Participants in the program are selected from self-nominations or nominations made by past Lemann-Stern participants and New Orleans' Jewish community leaders. Graduates of the program have served on the boards of every Jewish agency, synagogue and organization in our community, and have used the knowledge gained from the program to benefit the wider New Orleans community as well. 


Due to the extreme generosity of 2015 Lemann-Stern GraduatesMorton & Carole Katz and Stuart & Ida Phillips, the Leadership Development Program (formerly known as Lemann-Stern) was renamed, and is now known as the Katz-Phillips Leadership Development Program. 


In 2015, Federation also announced the renaming of the program’s annual alumni event, which is now called the Betty and Phillip Meyers Leadership Development Alumni Event, thanks to the generosity of Betty Meyers.


To learn more, please contact Sherri Tarr at sherritarr@jewishnola.com or at 504-780-5609.

2019-2021 Katz-Phillips Leadership Development Program Class

Josh & Casey Denson | Mitch Frank | Harris Golden & Ashley Barriere

Eric & Jillian Greenberg | Adam Kancher & McKensie Kirchner

Andy & Paige Katz | Stefan Kostolitz

Ben & Megan Lowenburg | Chandler & Chelsea Nutik | Sarah Schatzmann

Derek Shanman & Elise Henry | David Shepard | Sami Slovy | Aran Toshav & Rebecca Friedman

Brian Weimer | Joshua & Julia Zuckerman | Max & Lorenza Zwain


2017-2019 Katz-Phillips Leadership Development Program Class

David & Betsy Becker | Dan & Cat Forman
Josh & Carli Gertler | Matt Glodowski
Chris Kornman & Arian Elfant | Jon & Michelle Lappen
Mark Wagner & Melissa Harris
Shael & Laura Lee Wolfson | David & Rella Zapletal


2015-2017 Katz-Phillips Leadership Development Class Graduates

Bradley & Daniela Bain | Ben & Darrah Caplan | Sarah Cohen | Tracey Dodd | Jason & Rachael Feder | Jonathan & Holly Friedman | Mike & Julie Green | Jonathan Levy | Austin & Carrie Marks | Jeffrey Schwartz & Amy Barad | Peter Seltzer | Alon & Emily Shaya | Jeremy Soso & Rose Sher | Ben Swig | Hallie Timm | Sam & Heide Winston


2013-2015 Lemann-Stern Graduates

Phil Brickman | Jared & Casie Davidson | Michael Dodd | David & Kristin Dulitz | Nathan Kanter | Jorie Kirschbaum | Zach & Emily Kupperman | Adam & Katie Matasar | Meredith Petrone | David & Corey Rittvo | Aaron & Daliah Wolfson

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
/ ( mm / dd )